9 Exciting Theatre Releases 2013-14

Being a theatre enthusiast, I have been keeping my eye on the latest stage news and I am really excited about the range of new shows set to grace the country over the next year or so. I have collated my favourites here, as much for myself as for you!

From Here to Eternity

Having already bagged myself front row Dress Circle tickets for a preview, I’m pretty certain this is going to be a big hit.

Runs from 30th September. Tickets on sale now. http://www.fromheretoeternitythemusical.com/ 

The Light Princess

After progress stalling for Tori Amos, I’m glad this is finally here! With Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time director Marianne Elliot on board, I hope it delivers. 

Runs from 25th September. Tickets on sale 1st July. http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/shows/the-light-princess

Stephen Ward

Andrew Lloyd-Webber’s much anticipated musical inspired by the Profumo Affair opens at the Aldwych theatre this Christmas. After the relative disappointment of Love Never Dies (a show which I actually loved), let’s hope this pleases the critics!

Runs from 3rd December. Tickets on sale now. http://www.stephenwardthemusical.com/

American Psycho the musical

Yes, you read right. Patrick Bateman, the suave businessman of Wall Street who takes pleasure in exercising to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre before taking his hand to axe-killing. On the writing team we have Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa,  known primarly for working on hit US tv show Glee.

Runs from Tues 3rd December to 25th January. Tickets on sale now. http://www.almeida.co.uk/event/americanpsycho

Fuerzabruta

This production seems mysterious to me, but all I know is there is poetry, nudity, awesome music and lots of moisture. A ‘sensory overload’, it has been described as. Returning to the Roundhouse after a sell-out performance last year, I imagine this one will dazzle equally as bright in 2013. 

Runs from 23rd December. Tickets on sale now. http://www.roundhouse.org.uk/fuerzabruta

The Full Monty

When I picked up a flyer for this at the Noel Coward theatre last week, it had a plain yellow background with a massive cucumber on it. Need I say more? 

Runs from 20th February. Tickets on sale now. http://www.theatrepeople.com/shows/the-full-monty

I Can’t Sing!

There have been many rumours surrounding Harry Hill’s musical, which is set to mock and mickey-take the X-Factor to no end. Co-produced by Simon Cowell, I imagine Hill is kept fairly restrained. With a title like this, though, I’m not sure I envisage tourists flocking to see it. 

Runs from February 2014. Tickets on sale soon.

Newsies

The Tony-award winning Disney spectacular was a surprise hit, yet auditions have been underway at Pineapple Dance Studios ahead of the transfer from Broadway to the West End in Spring 2014.

Miss Saigon

On June 19th the BBC announced Sir Cameron Mackintosh’s plan for a revival in 2014, for its 25th Anniversary.

Tickets will go on sale 9th September.

Leave a Reply

